Teaching Staff

Offering a broad curriculum, students are encouraged and supported

Teachers at Brakenhale are led by the Headteacher, Jane Coley, and her Senior Leadership Team.  Each curriculum department below reports to a specified member of the Senior Leadership Team.

Brakenhale offers a broad curriculum and aims to provide each individual student the opportunity to work at a level consistent with their ability.  All students are encouraged and supported to achieve their best.

Art and Photography

Mrs Higham – Head of Department
Miss Faluyi
Miss Wilhelmy


Mr A George – Head of Department
Mr R Corry
Mrs C Masson
Mr H Thomas


Mr S Vegh – Head of Department
Miss C Loj

Dance & Drama (Performing Arts)

Mrs C Duffy – Head of Performing Arts
Mrs G Millard – Second in Performing Arts
Miss M Cullip
Miss G Lawry
Miss L Rushby

Design & Technology

Mrs S Higham – Head of Department
Mr Budden
Ms Shan
Miss Wilhelmy

English & Media

Mrs R HodgsonHead of English
Mrs C Keljarrett – Second in English
Mrs D Lewis – Head of KS3 English
Miss C Rendall – Head of KS5 English
Miss L ToofanyTeacher in Charge of Media
Mrs R Bradley
Miss E Clark
Miss H Ioannidis
Miss A Shearman
Miss K White


Miss G Whitehead Head of Department
Mr M Cooper
Mr C Collins
Miss J Cubbison
Miss B Hayward

Health & Social Care

Mrs N LazarczukDepartment Lead
Mr B Coley


Miss D Bunkell – Head of Department
Mr J Kellett
Ms C Loj

ICT / Computing

Mr A George – Head of Department
Mr A Bissitt
Miss J Lane
Mr I Lloyd Ahmed
Mr P McKane
Mr C Maye
Mr H Thomas


Miss C MassonHead of Maths & Economics
Mrs J WhybraSecond in Maths
Ms S Douse
Mrs N Fotheringham
Mrs N McDonald
Miss M Ocana
Mrs D Smith
Mrs D Turner
Mr F Vega Rendon

Modern Foreign Languages

Mrs O Hughes – Head of Department
Miss D Appleton
Miss N Caiafa
Mrs F Peralta

Music (Performing Arts)

Mrs C Duffy – Head of Performing Arts
Mr J Duffy
Miss E Hope

Physical Education

Mr M Potter – Head of Department
Mr R Beukes
Mr J Boucher
Miss A Butler
Mrs N Lazarczuk
Mr C Maye
Ms L Rushby


Mr S Vegh – Head of Department
Mr J Curtis

Religious Studies

Mr S Vegh – Head of Department
Miss L Baveystock
Mr L Hilton
Miss C Loj


Mr J Radcliffe – Head of Science
Miss S Anderson – Second in Science
Miss R Young – STEM Lead
Miss C Boulter
Mr B Coley
Miss F Manning
Mrs G Powell
Dr H Robson
Mr J Swynford-Lain
Ms L Turner