Year 7 Welcome Letter


 

Dear Parents and Carers

We welcome you and your child to the Brakenhale community. We hope your child has settled in well to the life and work of the Brakenhale School.

Below you will find a number of key dates for your diaries:

• Monday 12th October: 16.00-19.00 – Meet the Tutor Evening: An evening to meet your sons/daughters tutor and discuss their progress at secondary school. The year 7 tutors will be able to give an overview about how your child is settling into Brakenhale.

• Thursday 15th October: Year 6 open evening, to allow staff to set up for this event the school will be closed for students from 1.25.

• Students will return then on Friday 16th October at a later start time of 09.30.

• Tuesday 20th October: 18.30-19.30 “How to help your child learn”. A talk by Lisa Baveystock, Assistant head teacher at the Brakenhale, please note this is a repeat of last year’s discussion on growth mind sets held previously in June 2015.

• Monday 26th October: Friday 30th October: Half Term

• Thursday 10th December: 19.00 – The Brakenhale Dance Show

• Monday 14th December: 19.00 – The Brakenhale Music show

• Friday 18th December – School closes for the Christmas holidays at 12.05

• Monday 3rd January: Students return to school, starting at 08.40.

Over the course of the year graded reports will be sent home with information regarding your child’s progress in all subject areas. The first graded report will be sent to you during November.

If you have any issues or concerns please feel free to contact the school or the relevant staff listed below:

Main reception: 01344 423041 Please use this number to report your son or daughters absence and other enquiries.

Below is a list on useful contacts, we are happy for you to phone staff members too:

Assistant Headteacher: Mrs Lisa Baveystock lbaveystock@brakenhale.co.uk

Head of Year 7: Mr Martyn Cooper mcooper@brakenhale.co.uk

Assistant Head of Year 7: Miss Laura Ball lball@brakenhale.co.uk

SEN Co-ordinator: Mrs Ina Chantry ichantry@brakenhale.co.uk

EAL co-ordinator: Mrs Christine Reilly creilly@brakenhale.co.uk
You can always email your childs tutor with any concerns or questions you may have which are listed below:

7B Tutor: Mr Jonathan Radcliffe: jradcliffe@brakenhale.co.uk
7R Tutor: Mr Howard Smith: hsmith@brakenhale.co.uk
7A Tutor: Mrs Tara Casman: tcasman@brakenhale.co.uk
7K Tutor: Miss Rebecca Bardwell: rbardwell@brakenhale.co.uk
7E Tutor/Assistant head of year 7: Miss Katie Phipps: kphipps@brakenhale.co.uk
7N Tutor: Mr Craig Humber: chumber@brakenhale.co.uk
7H Tutor: Mr Daniel Hicks: dhicks@brakenhale.co.uk

We hope too that your son/daughter has had the opportunity to be actively involved in some of the many clubs and activities our school has to offer. Please find enclosed a list of the sports clubs on during the Autumn term.

With lots of new and exciting steps we look forward to working with you and your child throughout your time at the Brakenhale school.

Kind regards

Martyn Cooper
Head of Year 7