year-groups-header

At Brakenhale we take the responsibility of educating and caring for your child very seriously. We believe that happy, successful children will become confident and independent learners. The care and welfare of our students starts with the Form Tutor who looks after a group of about 27 students. Your child’s Form Tutor is a key person in their well being and will be the initial contact for advice and guidance for students and parents/carers.

Each Year Group is led and managed by a Head of Year, supported by an Assistant Head of Year, who will ensure that your son or daughter has a positive experience at school. The Year Team monitors and manages the pastoral and Behaviour for Learning procedures across a year group, together with rewards and sanctions. At each assessment point they track student grades to ensure they are achieving their target grades.

Parents/carers are always welcome to discuss with us any aspect of our work and address any difficulty or concern you may have about your child’s school experience.

Changes to Education – A Parents Guide Fact Sheet Download PDF

GCSE Reforms – A Summary Download PDF

A link to each Year Group is available below and information about exams can be found on our Examinations page.

Head of Year: Mr Cooper
mcooper@brakenhale.co.uk

Assistant Head of Year: Mrs S Wilkins
swilkins@brakenhale.co.uk

Tutors

  • B:  Mrs C Masson – cthomas@brakenhale.co.uk
  • R:  Miss L Harbour – lharbour@brakenhale.co.uk
  • A:  Mr A George – ageorge@brakenhale.co.uk
  • K:  Miss E Meier – emeier@brakenhale.co.uk
  • E:  Miss M Gillett – mgillett@brakenhale.co.uk
  • N:  Mr O Thomas – othomas@brakenhale.co.uk
  • H:  Miss T Harris – tharris@brakenhale.co.uk

Head of Year: Miss S Douse
sdouse@brakenhale.co.uk

Assistant Head of Year: Mr S Read-Linton and Ms M Howes
slinton@brakenhale.co.uk and mhowes@brakenhale.co.uk

Tutors

  • B:  Mr M Kingston – mkingston@brakenhale.co.uk
  • R:  Miss O Danset-Sales  – odansetsales@brakenhale.co.uk
  • A:  Mr S Read-Linton – slinton@brakenhale.co.uk
  • K:  Ms M Howes – mhowes@brakenhale.co.uk
  • E:  Mr  H Smith – hsmith@brakenhale.co.uk
  • N:  Mr M Jones – mjones@brakenhale.co.uk
  • H:  Mr S Bell – sbell@brakenhale.co.uk

Welcome to Year 8

Information from our Welcome Evening held on Wednesday 13th September 2017

Year 8 Literacy  Download PDF

Dealing with Adolescent Transition in Year 8 Download PDF

Head of Year: Mr D Hicks
dhicks@brakenhale.co.uk

Assistant Head of Year: Miss D O’Brien
dobrien@brakenhale.co.uk

Tutors

  • B:  Miss L Toofany – ltoofany@brakenahle.co.uk
  • R:  Miss D O’Brien – dobrien@brakenhale.co.uk
  • A:  Mrs I Chantry –  ichantry@brakenhale.co.uk
  • K:  Miss D Lewis – dlewis@brakenhale.co.uk
  • E:  Mrs J Whybra –  jwhybra@brakenhale.co.uk
  • N:  Mr L Tattersall – ltattersall@brakenhale.co.uk
  • H:  Mr M Long – mlong@brakenhale.co.uk

Year 9 Options 2017-18

Information on curriculum options for Year 9 from our Evening held on the 1st February 2017

We held our Options Information Evening for parents on Wednesday 1st February 2017.

Download PDF of presentation about Year 9 Options from our Information Evening.

KS4 Curriculum Options Booklet 2017-19 Download PDF

KS4 Curriculum Options Application Form 2017-19 Download PDF

Head of Year: Mr N O’Donoghue
nodonoghue@brakenhale.co.uk

Assistant Head of Year: Miss L Rushby
lrushby@brakenhale.co.uk

Tutors

  • B:  Miss L Rushby – lrushby@brakenhale.co.uk
  • R:  Miss C Haley – chaley@brakenhale.co.uk
  • A:  Miss L Willimott – lwillimott@brakenhale.co.uk
  • K:  Miss C Loj – cloj@brakenhale.co.uk
  • E:  Miss A Raby – araby@brakenhale.co.uk
  • N:  Mr I Anderson – ianderson@brakenhale.co.uk
  • H:  Mr T Harding – tharding@brakenhale.co.uk

 

 

Year 10 Information Evening 19th October 2016 Presentation  Download PDF

Head of Year: Mr P Benson
pbenson@brakenhale.co.uk

Assistant Head of Year: Mrs A Duddy
aduddy@brakenhale.co.uk

Tutors

  • B:  Mrs A Duddy – aduddy@brakenhale.co.uk
  • R:  Mrs S Higham – shigham@brakenhale.co.uk
  • A:  Mr J Swynford-Lain – jlain@brakenhale.co.uk
  • K:  Mr E Jackson-Sankey – ejackson-sankey@brakenhale.co.uk
  • E:  Mr W Yeates – wyeates@brakenhale.co.uk
  • N:  Ms E Hope – ehope@brakenhale.co.uk
  • H:  Ms M Morgan – mmorgan@brakenhale.co.uk

 

Year 11 Support 2017-18

Year 11 Information Evening 11th October 2017 Presentation  Download PDF

 

Year 11 Support 2016-17

Year 11 Revision Support Evening 30th March 2017 Presentation  Download PDF

Year 11 Revision Support Evening 30th March 2017 Information for Students Booklet Download PDF

Year 11 Revision Support Evening 30th March 2017 Exam Preparation Booklet Download PDF

Year 11 Information Evening 12th October 2016 Presentation  Download PDF

Year 11 Resources, Study Support and PPEs – 2016 Download PDF

Pathways To Post-16 Education At Brakenhale 2016 Download PDF