year-groups-header

At Brakenhale we take the responsibility of educating and caring for your child very seriously. We believe that happy, successful children will become confident and independent learners. The care and welfare of our students starts with the Form Tutor who looks after a group of about 27 students. Your child’s Form Tutor is a key person in their well being and will be the initial contact for advice and guidance for students and parents/carers.

Each Year Group is led and managed by a Head of Year, supported by an Assistant Head of Year, who will ensure that your son or daughter has a positive experience at school. The Year Team monitors and manages the pastoral and Behaviour for Learning procedures across a year group, together with rewards and sanctions. At each assessment point they track student grades to ensure they are achieving their target grades.

Parents/carers are always welcome to discuss with us any aspect of our work and address any difficulty or concern you may have about your child’s school experience.

Changes to Education – A Parents Guide Fact Sheet Download PDF

GCSE Reforms – A Summary Download PDF

A link to each Year Group is available below and information about exams can be found on our Examinations page.

Head of Year: Mr Cooper
mcooper@brakenhale.co.uk

Assistant Head of Year: Mrs D Tobin-Desson
dtdesson@brakenhale.co.uk

Tutors

  • B:  Mr M Kingston mkingston@brakenhale.co.uk
  • R:  Miss O Danset-Sales  odansetsales@brakenhale.co.uk
  • A:  Mrs D Tobin-Desson dtdesson@brakenhale.co.uk
  • K:  Ms F Shayanewako fshayanewako@brakenhale.co.uk
  • E:  Mrs S Wilkins swilkins@brakenhale.co.uk
  • N:  Mr M Jones mjones@brakenhale.co.uk
  • H:  Mr S Bell sbell@brakenhale.co.uk

Head of Year: Mr D Hicks Welcome Letter PDF
dhicks@brakenhale.co.uk

Assistant Head of Year: Miss D O’Brien
dobrien@brakenhale.co.uk

Tutors

  • B:  Miss L Toofany – ltoofany@brakenahle.co.uk
  • R:  Miss D O’Brien – dobrien@brakenhale.co.uk
  • A:  Mrs I Chantry –  ichantry@brakenhale.co.uk
  • K:  Miss C Langille – clangille@brakenhale.co.uk
  • E:  Mrs J Whybra –  jwhybra@brakenhale.co.uk
  • N:  Mr L Tattersall – ltattersall@brakenhale.co.uk
  • H:  Miss L Garrido – lgarrido@brakenhale.co.uk

Head of Year: Mr N O’Donoghue
nodonoghue@brakenhale.co.uk

Assistant Head of Year: Miss L Rushby
lrushby@brakenhale.co.uk

Tutors

  • B:  Miss L Rushby – lrushby@brakenhale.co.uk
  • R:  Miss C Haley – chaley@brakenhale.co.uk
  • A: Mr H Smith – hsmith@brakenhale.co.uk
  • K:  Miss C Loj – cloj@brakenhale.co.uk
  • E:  Miss S Barnwell – sbarnwell@brakenhale.co.uk
  • N:  Mr I Anderson – ianderson@brakenhale.co.uk
  • H:  Mr T Harding – tharding@brakenhale.co.uk

Year 9 Options 2017-18

Information on curriculum options for Year 9 from our Evening held on the 1st February 2017

We held our Options Information Evening for parents on Wednesday 1st February 2017.

Download PDF of presentation about Year 9 Options from our Information Evening.

KS4 Curriculum Options Booklet 2017-19 Download PDF

KS4 Curriculum Options Application Form 2017-19 Download PDF

Head of Year: Mr P Benson Welcome Letter PDF
pbenson@brakenhale.co.uk

Assistant Head of Year: Mrs A Duddy
amartin@brakenhale.co.uk

Tutors

  • B:  Mrs A Duddy – amartin@brakenhale.co.uk
  • R:  Mr J Smith – jsmith@brakenhale.co.uk
  • A:  Mr J Swynford-Lain – jlain@brakenhale.co.uk
  • K:  Mr E Jackson-Sankey – ejackson-sankey@brakenhale.co.uk
  • E:  Mr J Hoey – jhoey@brakenhale.co.uk
  • N:  Mr F Slade – flade@brakenhale.co.uk
  • H:  Mrs N Gibbons – ngibbons@brakenhale.co.uk

 

Year 10 Information Evening 19th October 2016 Presentation  Download PDF

Head of Year: Miss S Douse
sdouse@brakenhale.co.uk

Assistant Head of Year: Mr S Read-Linton
slinton@brakenhale.co.uk

Tutors

  • B:  Mr S Read-Linton
  • R:  Mr W Yeates
  • A:  Miss L Willmott
  • K:  Mrs S Higham
  • E:  Mr J Duffy
  • N:  Miss C Thomas
  • H:  Miss S Jacob

Year 11 May Half Term Revision Sessions 2017

Day Date Subject Subject
Tuesday 30 May IT & Computing
All groups 9am-4pm in B11 & B12
Maths
All students drop in 10am-2pm in M12/14
Wednesday 31 May History
All students in C12 9am-4pm
Geography (priority)
All students in G01 & G02 1pm-4pm
Thursday 1 June Music (priority)
All students in the Music Room 10am-12noon
 History
All students in C12 9am-12noon
Friday 2 June GCSE Business
All students in B15 & B16 9am-4pm

Year 11 Revision Support Evening 30th March 2017 Presentation  Download PDF

Year 11 Revision Support Evening 30th March 2017 Information for Students Booklet Download PDF

Year 11 Revision Support Evening 30th March 2017 Exam Preparation Booklet Download PDF

Year 11 Information Evening 12th October 2016 Presentation  Download PDF

Year 11 Resources, Study Support and PPEs – 2016 Download PDF

Pathways To Post-16 Education At Brakenhale 2016 Download PDF